Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-05-2020

Re: MF644cdw - setting up the default paper tray

Very disappointed, indeed.  Why on Earth woud a company in business this long have a default tray other than the one you dont have to feed manually feed.  Are you kidding me?  Having to spend even 1 minute on this issue is absurd.  I will try and then I am immediately returning this product and will forever eliminate Canon from future purchases.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-29-2020

Re: MF644cdw - setting up the default paper tray

I just installed this printer. The first test print went fine from my Windows 10 PC, it automatically used the paper tray.

Then I fed one sheet of paper thru the manual feed, (a horrible design by itself but that is not the point here!) printed fine.

Now my printer defaults to the manual feed and of course, there was no paper.

 

I have to go to paper settings, make the tray "LTR/Plain 1", can't be any other type of paper, then it prints ok.  Canon literally matches to the EXACT paper, not just size but type and weight of the paper material!    Amazing!

 

I know I have read plenty of reviews that this printer is not user friendly but now I am experiencing it!  

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-22-2020

Re: MF644cdw - setting up the default paper tray

On the printer go to:
Menu>Function Settings>Printer>Printer Settings>Prioritize Driver Settings> Drawer 1.
Set to "On", click "Apply".
In Windows open the printer driver>Paper source>
Set default to Drawer 1 and choose paper quality.
The Windows driver should then override the printer settings and no error message should pop-up.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-28-2020

Re: MF644cdw - setting up the default paper tray

I have the same issue.  I set Tray 1 to ON and the Multi-Function tray to OFF, but it still prompts for paper for the multi tray every time I print from my desktop.  Works fine from my Chromebook.  Please help!  So frustrating!

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-28-2020

Re: MF644cdw - setting up the default paper tray

Dudmit, thank you. This resolved my issue. I have had this problem for over 3 months. Ever since Windows 10 update back in March of 2020 that caused my computer to crash. 

 

Here are the steps for anyone who needs help. 

 

Canon Printer Touch Panel. 

1. <Home> >Paper Setting

2. For Multifunction tray select "LGL Plain 1

3. For Tray 1 select "LTR Plain 1"

4. Select frquently used paper sizes > Multi-purpose tray > Select LGL then. Drawer 1 select > LTR

5. Select Apply

 

Windows 10 >go to settings > Printers and scanners > select your printer and select < Manage

1. Open Printing preference > Paper Quality 

2. Tray Selection > Paper source > Automatically Select

3. Media > Plain Paper.

4. Select Advanced >Make sure Paper size is "Letter"

 

That should work now.

 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2020

Re: MF644cdw - setting up the default paper tray

I had this same issue and realized it was due to a software issue. For my wifes computer I used the installation disk and installed everything. When I went up to my pc I forgot the CD so simply downloaded the software from the website.  For some reason I experienced issues never being able to get Tray 1 selected instead of the multipurpose tray. Once I realized my wifes computer was not having this issue I took a look at the printer preferences and saw a completely different menu than what I was seeing on my pc. At this point I took the CD and re-installed all the software directly from it and all the issues went away. Not sure what Canon did differently between their downloaded software and the CD software, but they certainly didn't get it right. If  you didn't install from CD I highly suggest doing so and see if that fixes your issue. 

 

Before anyone asks, yes, I'm absolutely certain I downloaded the correct software directly from Canon the first time around. 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-27-2020

Re: MF644cdw - setting up the default paper tray

This worked for me as I was able to print from tray one. 

From the home screen go to 

1. Menu

2. Function settings

3. Printer

3a. printer settings

3b. on the top you will select "Prioritize driver settings when printing

3c. Both multipurpose tray and draw one both should be on.

 

I found draw one off(actually my wife found this) I give her cudos!!

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-08-2020

Re: MF644cdw - setting up the default paper tray

@Canon, this is insane. You're supposed to be a top printer producer, but instead, you put out products that weren't tested even once. What infuriates your users here, listed:

 

1. It's nonsense that the multi-purpose tray is set as default

2. Your product manual doesn't have the answer and yet your support forwards all questions there (really helpful)

3. You simply cannot change the default tray from the printer

4. You cannot set the sleep time on this device

 

It feels like this thing was designed by an engineer who hasn't printed even once.

 

I really needed to go to the gym to let off steam and not throw this ******* out the window.

 

Please, respect your customers.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement