Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I would say thank you...  But setting to run as Admin didin't work.

 

I suppose Canon is ACTIVELY trying to drive customers away with their non-support.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-04-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Oh well. Perhaps try deleting everything again, I had to delete from windows printers and devices , because there was some internal error, re-installing everything , and then going from there.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-04-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I also had to clear the printer buffer , for a stuck job on another canon printer, to be able to uninstall those drivers.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I had already deleted everything and reinstalled a few times.   It was feeling rather pointlessly redundant.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-10-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

[ Edited ]

This tool had been working well for 7 years till now. It stopped to scan a few days ago. After multiple reinstalling, driver/device removal from the system, reinstalling everything from scratch, again and again, I found the original disk, which was provided with the original hardware. After installation from that disk, everything got working again. So my question is: where is the progress, Canon? Why are you guys posting updates, that crash working hardware?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-23-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10


@Djekaster wrote:

 It stopped to scan a few days ago. 


I had the same problem after Windows 10 updates. It turns out that it's possible to run Canon MF Toolbox as administrator so everything works fine again

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10


@volokolamsk-umc wrote:

 

I had the same problem after Windows 10 updates. It turns out that it's possible to run Canon MF Toolbox as administrator so everything works fine again


No, it doesn't.  I've tried it many times.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-23-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10


@scotty2541 wrote:

 

No, it doesn't.  I've tried it many times.


Have u tried to use Windows Fax and Scan app?
or
[Control Panel] -> [ Devices and Printers] - double-click the icon for the machine - scan 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I can print.  I don't fax from Windows.


When I want to scan, I get an error that the toolbox is the worng version.  EXCEPT IT'S NOT.

 

So 33% of what I bought this for doesn't work.  And Canon doesn't appear to give a ... "crap"

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-07-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Here's a fix that always works for me:

 

FROM CANON COMMUNITY USERS GROUP

(PIERS_A AND CAPTREP)

(FAVORITE IN EXPLORER)

 

‎08-20-2015 04:36 AM

This simple fix I found online worked for me:

 
Start> in the run box type. Services.msc

Scroll down to Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)

Right click, select Properties

Check that Startup type is set to Automatic

Click Log On Tab

Check that Local System account , and Allow service to interact with desktop is checked. Hit apply.

Click Recovery...Click on window next to First Failure, Scroll to Restart the Service. Hit apply.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement