cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R5 sharpness setting in picture styles

MisterWizard
Contributor

Honest, I've looked in both the printed manual and the pdf version, and I can't find the answer.

In the picture styles settings for the user defined styles, there is a setting for "sharpness" but it doesn't allow any changes.  Am I missing something, and if it's not to be modified then why even put it in the settings menu?

I'm new to this camera, but come from years of using the 1D series bodys so I do know my way around most of the menus. 

And seriously, if I've missed it, please point me to the page or paragragh or archived scroll that it's explained in.

Thanks for listening!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

As kvbarkley stated, you must select one of the "Sharpness" parameters.

Then Press SET to change the selected parameter.

Then Press SET again to store the new value.

Select parameter.png

Adjust value.png

"The attached image is an example (taken from an online tutorial) of the detail set screen with the sharpness parameter simply not adjustable."

Sometimes it's better to read the step-by-step directions in the manual rather than a possibly simplified "online tutorial" 😋

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

Hmmm, I never considered that.   Interesting.  
Thanks!

Sorry about my earlier comment. I did not understand. I hope this might be more helpful.

Unsharp mask has three parameters when digital. For film photography it was analog and used a slightly out of focus enlarger.

The names of the 3 parameters vary from software to software. The three parameters give one much more control of the unsharp mask than does a single slider.

There is a very good explanation at:

https://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/sharpness.htm

https://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/unsharp-mask.htm

Fineness might substitute for "radius".