cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS M50 Mark II Focus Help & Dark Eyes

jlc517
Contributor

I just recently purchased a Canon M50 Mark II and could really use some tips. I love photography, and wanted to purchase a camera to take photos of my babies, rather than just use my iPhone. I am a beginner though, so I am having difficult with focusing. It seems the photos never look crisp, especially when taken indoors. I’m experimenting with settings, rather than using the auto mode 

Also, it seems that everyone’s eyes always look black. Half my family has blue eyes, and they always look black. Do you know what I could be doing wrong?

I really appreciate all of the advice you can provide! Thank you so much! 

30 REPLIES 30

Thank you for your advice, and letting me know.  Ugh...that is frustrating news, since I bought the camera earlier this year, and can't return it.  😞  I always seem to pick the items that get discontinued. 

krahe
Rising Star
Rising Star

A close-up shot should reveal eye color if you have enough light. As for focus, make sure you have Touch & Drag enabled. That lets you touch the screen to indicate what you want to focus on. The M50 will also take cues from that point to adjust exposure. This even works when you're taking a shot using the viewfinder, which is my normal mode for most shots (i.e. looking through the viewfinder, touching the screen to indicate the focus point).

Kevin Rahe
EOS M50 Mark II

Great tip!  Thank you so much!  

rs-eos
Elite

Regarding images with eye (iris) color.  The following conditions will lead to not seeing much or any iris color:

• Eyes are too small within the overall frame.
  • Eyes are within shadow (e.g. strong light source directly above; aka racoon eyes)
  • Subjects are squinting.  Try to re-position them so that the sun is now to their backs.