cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for pictures of my artwork with EOS Rebel T7

smarc
Apprentice

I need to shoot some high-quality photos of my paintings and I am an absolute novice when it comes to photography. The requirements I'm given are at least 300 dpi, under 5MB, 1000px wide/72px per square inch. I have an EOS rebel T7 and I've just been bumbling through it. Any advice?

3 REPLIES 3

Peter
Authority
Authority

One time only or will you continue to take pictures of artwork?

For one time only I would use a grey card, tripod and taking the picture during a cloudy day. Around 50-85 mm.

If you continue to take pictures of artwork I would go for two Speedlites (Canon 600EX-RT) and one trigger (ST-E3-RT) and a color checker.

I use two 580EX II with two older Odin flash triggers standing 45 degrees from the painting. I use 85mm on a fullframe and f/8.

After I have taken all the pictures I take a last picture of my SpyderCheckr.

I load my raw files in darktable and color calibrate the SyderCheckr picture in the module Color calibration module.

I then copy its style to all other pictures with ctrl+c ctrl+v.

With all pictures of paintings I now add a base curve for Canon in Basecurve module, activate Lens correction module and fix perspective in Perspective and rotate module. Crop if needed with Crop module. At last I add a small amount of sharpening.

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Get out there and learn how to use the camera.  

Use P mode, save in RAW and JPG formats.  Download the image files to a computer and the Canon DPP4 to edit them.  Get out there and learn how to use the camera.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Some of the requirements you were given are conflicting (e.g. 300 dpi vs 72 dpi).