cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MG5520 scanner no longer connecting (and not scanning).

larryc43230
Enthusiast

I've been using a PIXMA MG5520 to print and scan since April, 2014. Sometime in the past couple of weeks, it lost the ability to scan. I can still print, I just can't scan. I'm running Windows 10 Home, Version 1909, OS Build 18363.476.

When I try to use the Canon IJ Scan Utility to scan, I get the following message:

An error has occurred.

Turn the device off and then back on.

Scanner driver will be closed.

Code:2,250,200

I turned the MG5520 off and back on, and tried again.

Same error.

I did a hard reset (with the printer on, I yanked the plug then plugged it back in), and tried again.

Same error.

Using Settings... Devices... Printers & Scanners on the PC, I removed the device, then from Device Manager I uninstalled the printer and deleted the drivers. I downloaded the most recent driver package from the Canon Web site and re-installed the drivers and software. As part of the installation (from the printer), I added the printer to my WiFi network and double-checked that the settings were correct. Setup... Device settings... LAN settings... Confirm LAN settings... WLAN setting list showed Connection: Active, SSID: [the correct and only available SSID], Communication mode: Infrastructure. I tried scanning again.

Same error.

Then I tried using the printer's controls to scan. I selected Scan, PC. The Select PC screen appeared, and the only choice available was "Local (USB)". Since the printer is not connected via USB, this was also a dead end.

I have double- and triple-checked my router and my security settings (I have Webroot installed). The settings have not been changed in months, and there is no error log relating to the scanner. I also tried deactivating my security software to see what would happen, but that didn't help: Same error.

What do I have to do to get scanning working again?

Larry