cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 400mm f5.6 Arc Foot

pcather
Contributor

I’m a wildlife photographer. I attach a monopod to my lens. I carry it around on my shoulder. My monopod has a Wimberly Gimbal Head that requires an Arca Dovetail Mount. 

My Canon 400mm foot is not this type. I have tried to screw on  a Benro foot but when I put it on my shoulder, it comes unscrewed due to the pressure on the lens. 

I found a replacement collar online that has an Arca type mount but it’s cheap with bad reviews. 

I’m considering gluing my Benro foot to the existing foot. 

Thought I’d see if anyone else had any suggestions before I do this. 

6 REPLIES 6

JoeySnaps
Enthusiast

Does your lens foot have two threaded holes? Perhaps you can use one of the third party ARCA compatible plates with two screws, which would stop the plate twisting and thus coming loose when you have it slung over your shoulder?

R6mkII, various lenses, speedlites. Also legacy Canons going back to T90 and even A1.

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Definitely do not glue the plate; must be a mechanical connection.

You can get a collar like this from Amazon:

Screenshot 2023-02-21 190511.jpg

You can get a universal ARCA Swiss plate from a company like LeoFoto (on eBay). Just be sure there is a raised lip on the rear that will act as an anti-twist device. If you want to go top dollar RRSD or Kirk Enteprises has them as well.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

@jrhoffman75 wrote:

You can get a universal ARCA Swiss plate from a company like LeoFoto (on eBay). Just be sure there is a raised lip on the rear that will act as an anti-twist device. If you want to go top dollar RRSD or Kirk Enteprises has them as well.

Here is an example of a raised lip that will prevent twisting. 

001.jpg

Mike Sowsun

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority