Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-02-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

For people where removing drivers, uninstalling-reinstalling various installers/upgrades, unplugging all USBs, trying YouTube registry fixes, buying an old EOS-U disc from eBay, disabling all antivirus, firewalls, etc etc STILL didn't help...(!) Gavin at the higher level of Canon UK tech phone support just solved this for me. Event Viewer showed that this problem was due to corrupt configuration files. The fix for this is: go to File Explorer > C: drive > Users > your ursername > (show hidden folders)  AppData > Local > CANON_INC > delete all the folders inside CANON_INC. They're the corrupt temporary configuration files, no harm deleting them.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2018

Re: EOS Utility working with Windows 10 !!!

[ Edited ]
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-29-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

I spent hours trying to figure this out because the connection from the USB that was provided was never detected either on my Mac or Windows 10 PCs. I have a 7D MKII. Tried one thing that doesn't involve installing or deleting drivers or any of that!!

 

Simply remove the wifi card then plugin, turn camera on and if the utility doesn't start, start it up manually and it should work.

 

Worked on Windows 10 with Eos Utility 2 and 3 and Eos Utility on Macbook 15" mid 2015 with Sierra OS.

 

Hopefully, this works for many c:

 

Cheers!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-08-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Disable your WiFi and connect using USB cable

 

Wifi.PNG

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-16-2019

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Mine is still not working. Trying to do remote shooting on my eos rebel t6. I have the utility downloaded with the updater. Turned the wifi on disavke for my camera, connected my camera and stilk nothing happened. I cant click romote sgooting at all.
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2019

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Don't ask me why, but I managed it to work after I created a Inbound Rule for the Port 1900 UDP in Windows Defender Firewall with Advanced Security:

 

Screenshot_1.png

Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 544
Registered: ‎01-25-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Win 10 is far more troublesome for most people than prior editions of Windows and even when it is working it is far from a svelte system.  I use the pro version and my daughter has the same and we are both using identical HP Z-820 dual processor work stations.  The frequent windows updates will often add glitches to a formerly properly working setup.  Twice in the past 18 months I have had to go through the manual networking setup after an automatic update created issues with EOS utility recognizing my 1DX and 1DX 2 bodies connected via the gigabit ethernet ports in the workstation.

 

I was in the computer industry for several years after getting my undergrad and did a lot of consulting work with MS during the dot com boom era.  I have used just about every version of Windows going back to the days when Windows simply sat on top of PC DOS and even the much maligned 8.1 never created the amount of issues that Win 10 creates.  If you have nothing better to do for the next 12 months, google something simple like Win 10 high disc usage at startup and you will find enough reported problems with an equally wide array of solutions that only work in some cases leaving users to experiment and hopefully stumble across the one that works for their particular case without spending days and ultimately giving up.  

 

I only run the pro version which is less objectionable than the home versions because it gives you a little more control over what the OS can do without your permission but that level of control has dropped over the life of Win 10.  I MUCH prefer Red Hat Linux which came factory installed as the second OS on both of the household workstations but some programs I use, like DPP, aren't available for Linux yet.  After being very happy using Microsoft software for years (XP was the high point for stability and never created an issue with the many high end and home machines I used it with) I will be happy to say goodbye to the frustrating and time wasting mess known as Win 10.  It isn't so much that it is a new operating system but instead it represents a change in philosophy from MS that WE know what you need regardless of what you want as a customer and one of the prime examples of this is when someone in mid-presentation is interrupted by Windows going into update mode and grabbing the lion's share of system resources bringing normal operation to a grid lock.

 

Canon, PLEASE port your software and utilities over to Linux.  It is what MS is moving to with its various cloud services and hopefully MS will soon embrace this at the pro-sumer desktop level soon and get away from an incredibly poorly designed and supported OS.

 

Rodger

EOS 1DX M2, 1DX, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Using a Rebel T5i. I have the current Windows 10 Pro release (1903 Build 18362.239) and Canon Utility 2.14.20.0. If I launch Canon Utility 2 directly, tethering works perfectly. I cannot get auto-launch to detect the camera regardless of reinstall, reboot, reconnect camera, etc.

 

This combo worked in the past but at some point with Windows updates it quit working. I'm just doing the manual startup because I have to turn on the camera anyway.

The preference to open linked software doesn't work either, I use Adobe Bridge and have to manually switch to it after each capture.

I also have a Rebel XSi connected to an ancient MacBook Pro running OS X 10.6.8 and Bridge CS5 and both functions work perfectly there, go figure.

Canon should just merge versions and support all cameras with the latest Canon Utility on current operating systems. I suspect that a lot of their customers use Windows 10 (I'm a Mac guy but don't get much say on equipment at work, or I'd have better systems.)

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement