cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pixma Pro 100 Printing Issues with macOS Big Sur

katiegarrison
Contributor

I've been using my Pixma Pro 100 for 5+ years with a PC with no issues. I switched to macOS Big Sur, and now I'm getting blurred/hazy prints. I've tried printing through PhotoShop, Gimp and ColorSync. Here are the other things I tried with no success:

• Deleted all printers/reset printers in Apple settings and readded Pro 100 with Canon IJ using latest drivers downloaded from Canon (did not use AirPrint or Bonjour to add the printer)
  • Tried Canon’s plugin Print Studio Pro in Photoshop
  • Hooked the computer directly up to printer with USB cable and tried to print
  • Updated the printer’s firmware to the latest version
  • Cleaned printer multiple times using Utility
  • Cleaned print heads manually

After all this, I hooked up my PC again, and it printed perfectly. Any advice?

40 REPLIES 40

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!!
I have not been able to print on 13X19 paper for several years. I have searched for answers and the air print issue solved everything!

Thanks for this. My printer was using air-print as well. When I applied icc profile in Lightroom, colors were awful - as though profile was applied twice. Best I could do was let the printer manage color.  With the Correct driver (Canon as you mention), I now have the color options, and can use icc profiles as before.

This is the driver version from Canon directly mcpd-mac-pro_100-16_50_0_0-ea21_3.dmg.

Big Sur did something to make Lightroom fail to display all the previous settings such as paper type selection.

LV

@limvo05 wrote:

This is the driver version from Canon directly mcpd-mac-pro_100-16_50_0_0-ea21_3.dmg.

Big Sur did something to make Lightroom fail to display all the previous settings such as paper type selection.

LV

Lightroom Classic and Big Sur 11.6. Here is a screen shot. You need to select the appropriate dropdown.