Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-13-2015

I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?

Dear Forum Members:

I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Seems that I have Asian version camera with 3 languages preinstalled: English, Japanese, Mandarin. Trying to add Russian language to menues and commands.

Any suggestions how to do it?

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?

[ Edited ]

You can download the latest firmware for your camera from www.canon.ru.

 

I assume you know how to read Russian in order to navigate on website.

 

I think this is the direct link to the firmware download page.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 730
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?

[ Edited ]

You can't change it with a firmware. This is an hardware feature/issue that Canon and many Japanese camera companies have done.

Learn how to use the English menu or send it in for replaceing the motherboard.

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?


@Peter wrote:

You can't change it with a firmware. This is an hardware feature/issue that Canon and many Japanese camera companies have done.

Learn how to use the English menu or send it in for replaceing the motherboard.


Once a firmware update has been released, you can update it with firmware. It is only prior to the first firmware update that you are stuck with the language the camera shipped with.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 730
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?

[ Edited ]

Have you tried this yourself? The picture below is taken with firmware 1.1.2 and after that you can see yourself how it looks like updated to 1.1.3.

 

_MG_0186.jpg

 

Namnlös.jpg

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 766
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?

I have never before heard of cameras that required hardware changes to add/change menu languages. Certainly hasn't been the case with any Canon DSLR I've ever used (though I must admit I don't read and haven't tried to use many of those languages).

 

According to the Canon Europe website, the 5DIII should come pre-loaded with 25 languages:

 

 


English, German, French, Dutch, Danish, Portuguese, Finnish, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish, Spanish, Greek, Russian, Polish, Czech, Hungarian, Romanian, Ukrainian, Turkish, Arabic, Thai, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean and Japanese

 

 

According to the description, the latest firmware (1.3.3) "corrects some errors in the English and Russian" menus.

 

All this implies to me that a simple update of the firmware would solve your problems. That can be downloaded from Canon Europe or Canon Russia websites, I'm sure. It's worth a try!

 

http://www.canon-europe.com/support/consumer_products/products/cameras/digital_slr/eos_5d_mark_iii.a...

 

It's easy to update the firmware.... just follow the instructions on the website carefully!

 

It appears they may have Russian versions of all the documentation (instruction manuals and quick guides) and Canon softwares (EOS Utilities, DIgital Photo Pro, etc.) available, too.

  

***********


Alan Myers
San Jose, Calif., USA
"Walk softly and carry a big lens."
GEAR: 5DII, 7D(x2), 50D(x3), some other cameras, various lenses & accessories
FLICKR & EXPOSUREMANAGER 

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 730
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?

[ Edited ]

The firmware you download from US, Europe or Japan is the same firmware and the latest for 5DIII is 17 961 776 byte.

 

You can buy a 5DIII in Japan with international menu, but it will cost you more than the one with Japanese/English/Chinese.

 

Here at yodobashi you can check the camera. It is written that it has three languages:

 

日本語 Japanese

英語 English

簡体字中国語 Chinese

 

Nikon Coolpix S02 has Japanese/English. Sony Rx1 was only in Japanese when I last checked in the beginning of 2013. The international menu camera cost maybe 100$ more.

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-25-2018

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?

The languages in menu is factory locked.

You can unlock all languages using Tornado EOS program

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,899
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?


@ENLiTe wrote:

The languages in menu is factory locked.

You can unlock all languages using Tornado EOS program


My 5D3, purchased in the U.S. (B&H) in 2014 and now at firmware rev. level 1.3.5, has 25 language options. Russian is one of them.

 

Whether that matters to anybody or not, given how old this thread is, is an exercise left to the reader.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 730
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: I need to install Russian language onto my Canon EOS 5D Mark III. Any suggestions?

Thank you! It works!

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement