cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hospital Photograpy

Kaelicole92
Apprentice
A friend of mine is due with her baby any day now. She wants me to take photos of the birth for her. I have never done them before so I’m looking for help. I have a Canom T6i and would like some help on what settings I should use to get eh best photos. I’d prefer not to use flash. Anything will help please and thank you.
8 REPLIES 8

Ray-uk
Whiz

A lot depends on how much light is available in the room at the time. I would suggest you do a bit of experimentation in your own home under normal artificial light (any subject will do, the birth isn't needed for this).

It does depend on which lens you are going to use but as a general guide set your camera to AV mode and your lens aperture to about f5.6, if the displayed shutter speed is less than 1/60 then increase the ISO until it reaches 1/60 or more. Try not to take the ISO higher than necessary otherwise your shots could appear noisy.

On the day be prepared to use your flash because you just may not have any choice if the lighting is that poor.

@Ray-uk wrote:

A lot depends on how much light is available in the room at the time. I would suggest you do a bit of experimentation in your own home under normal artificial light (any subject will do, the birth isn't needed for this).

It does depend on which lens you are going to use but as a general guide set your camera to AV mode and your lens aperture to about f5.6, if the displayed shutter speed is less than 1/60 then increase the ISO until it reaches 1/60 or more. Try not to take the ISO higher than necessary otherwise your shots could appear noisy.

On the day be prepared to use your flash because you just may not have any choice if the lighting is that poor.