cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R6 Mark II Viewfinder went black

Ags13
Apprentice

I have a question. I just got the R6M2 not long ago. I started shooting with the camera and love every aspect of it. Yesterday when I went outside to photograph the sunset, camera would turn on but I did not see an image through the view finder. I pressed the shutter button (half wise and all the way through). It took an image but the image would not show on the screen either. I turned the camera on and off, took out the battery and the same issue continued. Even worse at some point the screen would go off too! Even way worse at some point I could no longer access the menu either. Nothing worked. 

That's when I shut off the camera and went home. When I turned the camera back on at home, the view finder and screen would work normal again. Menu was accessible as well. Please note that I have NOT changed any setting from my last shoot to yesterday's shoot. I was really surprised seeing the camera not working. 

Has this happen to any of you? Is that a thing with Canon (it's my first Canon camera). Another side note I am a super beginner, so most terms will probably be unfamiliar. If you have a suggestion, may I please ask you to write out the exact steps? Ground zero level 😉 

Thank you for all your help and time. 

Ag

9 REPLIES 9

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Contact Canon support at 1-800-OK-CANON. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

jaewoosong
Rising Star
Rising Star