cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R50: Camera will not turn on, PLEASE HELP ME

kenziief
Apprentice

I have a canon r50, which I purchased on march 14th, I am always so careful with it cause it's my first camera and my pride and joy tbh, I took pictures today for a party, and half way through my camera shut off, I didn't bring a second battery but this was just for fun tbh as I am not a professional just starting. I though ok maybe I was not mindful and it was not fully charged when I got there, It's not a big deal right.... ok so i plug battery in pop it back in camera camera turns on two seconds then turns back off while still in on mode, i didn't know what to do, I came home put in a another battery that I know for a fact is fully charged and camera will not turn on AT ALL i am panicking please please somebody guide me here i live in the middle of nowhere i don't even know where i would find somebody who can help tbh. 

9 REPLIES 9

Tronhard
VIP
VIP

Hi and welcome to the forum:

I can understand it must be stressful. I will say that it is not a good idea to install or remove batteries while the camera is turned on. I would suggest the following:
Turn the camera off
Remove both the battery and the SD card and leave it for about half an hour
Reinstall both battery and card
Turn it back on.

A couple of points: 
Assumedly you got one battery with the camera, is the other battery a Canon brand unit too?
Is your SD card a full-size one?  You should use only Full Size SD cards with a camera, and they should be reputable brands: Sandisk, Lexar and Prograde are examples.  Get them from reputable stores and avoid cheap deals on the web - there are lots of counterfeits out there that can cause issues with your camera's operation.