cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 90D combined with EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM - Is my kit enough?

BenRoc79
Apprentice

Hello All ,
I'm currently new to the DSLR world and have dived right in with the canon 90d kit which included a EF-S 18-135 f/3.5-5.6 is Nano USM lens & then purchased a EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 is Nano II USM lens

The #1 reason I have entered this world is I have a daughter in traveling soccer (outdoor) & Futsal soccer (indoor)
The little bit of research I did about the 90d was it was a good all-around camera for wildlife & sideline shooting of sports which I'm very happy with the quality of the equipment & the layout of menu buttons and such is I can take very good focused still images not zoomed in but when it comes to action with zoom my focus goes south

my current camera setting so far with EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 is Nano II USM lens

AV_ F/4_ISO auto _AWB_AI servo _DRIVE high burst_ shutter button meter only_ manual select zone AF

I have been watching a youtuber Michael The Maven which talks a lot about the 90d which has helped me tremendously with common setup but just seems I'm missing something in the setting or do I need to throw more $$ and get the EF 100-400 F/4.5-5.6 is ii USM

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

At this point get out there and take some pictures! That is the best way to identify what you need.

johnrmoyer
Whiz
Whiz

I have those three lenses. The 2 you already have seem very good to me. I use the EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM for wildlife and it is on my camera most of the time. The EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM is even better for wildlife than the EF70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM, but is heavier and more expensive.

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

I can only concur with my colleague KVBarkely - simply concentrating on the gear misses the point.  It's much more about the photographer once you have something reasonably adequate, which is where I think you are.