cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R6 Mark II: Question about why my shutter speed and ISO are acting the way they are

stcapp1426
Contributor

I have an R6 Mark II that I got about 6 months ago, and I am an amateur-level photographer. I shoot in manual most of the time with auto ISO and exposure compensation if I need it. I have the ISO capped at 12800. Today, I volunteered to shoot people at an event, so I set the camera to aperture priority so I could set my f stop and leave it since I was shooting them in front of a prop. I used my Canon EF mount (with adapter) 24-105 lens. My ISO was also on auto. My friend, who also has a Canon mirrorless (don't know which one) was there as well, with a Canon 70-300 EF mount lens. She set hers up the same way as I did. I noticed that my camera chose a very fast shutter speed combined with a high ISO. Shooting the same scene, her camera chose shutter speeds of around 1/200 with a much lower ISO. Why is that? Is there some setting I don't yet know about that's doing that? This has happened once before but I didn't think much of it then because I didn't have another photographer with me where we could compare settings. It seems like the shutter speed and ISO are competing with one another. What's going on? I'd greatly appreciate your help!

Sherri

8 REPLIES 8

stevet1
Whiz
Whiz

stcapp1426,

Perhaps, and this is just a perhaps, you didn't say what aperture your friend chose. If she had set a very small aperture like f/11 or so, her camera would have set a slow shutter speed to compensate.

If you had chosen a wide aperture like f/2.8 or f/4.0 or so, your camera would have sped up the shutter speed to compensate for your aperture setting.

If your camera has selected a fast shutter speed, this will darken the exposure. If you have your ISO on Auto, your camera would have set a high ISO to compensate for this darkened exposure.