cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

60-600mm lens + 3 extenders = Total focal length?

Okimar
Contributor

I'm a novice and completely confused after researching this question

Can anyone please tell me what the combined mm and magnification this with this arrangement on my Canon R?

20240529_234123.jpg

20240529_234607.jpg

23 REPLIES 23

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:

Hmmm...   I have the Sigma 60-600mm myself and your arrangement is not a construct I would recommend.  I assume you are keen to increase the size of an image within your photos.  But, to answer your question, there are several aspects to consider here.  The effective focal range of the lens, the impact on the aperture range, and its ability to gain focus and get an exposure reading.  Not to mention structural integrity and weather sealing.

Native focal range of Sigma is 60-600mm f/ 4.5-6.3.  Its performance in this configuration is excellent and can use all focusing and exposure modes of the camera to which it is connected.  It has good image stabilization.

Attaching an extender will have several impacts on the lens performance.
Adding a 1.4 extender will increase the effective focal length by a factor of 1.4 but also reduces the effective aperture performance by at least a stop.  That results in a focal range of 84-840, f/6-8 at best.
Adding a further 2x extender doubles the focal length again but loses you a further two stops of aperture
so, 168-1680 f/9-f11 (at best).  It is likely this will adversely effect focus and image stabilization.