cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 250D EF Lens Compatibility

JMcCann
Contributor

I am a complete novice...I just started photography two weeks ago.

I bought a Canon EOS 250D (made in the UK)...I am looking at buying a zoom lens--the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III.

Is this lens compatible with my camera body that was manufactured in the UK? If not, will I need an adapter? And, if I need an adapter, what adapter is best/do you recommend?

Thank you for your patience and help of this eager, yet very green photographer!

Jamie 

<Personal information removed per forum guidelines>

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

amfoto1
Authority

Yes the EF 75-300mm III lens will fit and work on a 250D (called SL3 in N. America).

However, it's Canon's cheapest telephoto zoom and the reasons will probably become apparent once you start using it. It's lightly built, doesn't have particularly smooth focus/zoom rings, uses slower & noisier "micro motor" focus drive, doesn't have image stabilization and has pretty soft image quality at the longer focal lengths..

The EF-S 55-250mm IS STM lens is a better lens in almost every way. The main things are that it has faster, quieter autofocus STM (stepper motor) focus drive and IS (Image Stabilization) which is particularly helpful with telephoto lenses such as this. It uses Canon ET-63 matched lens hood, which is sold separately but recommended to protect the lens and improve images. It and the EF 75-300mm have pretty similar image quality between 70 and 100mm... but from 135mm and longer the EF-S 55-250mm is much sharper. It also is closer focusing, able to render higher magnification, slightly smaller and a little lighter in weight. One minor negative is that the 55-250mm uses a polycarbonate bayonet mount. I wish it were metal! (Note: There also is are versions of this lens without STM. They're older and the STM version seems to have the best image quality of the bunch.)