cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera recommendations for Music + Sports photography?

shandelier
Apprentice

Hi! I'm a current photojournalism student saving up for a camera. I'm most familiar with the Canon 70D because that's what we use at my journalism school, however I'd really love to upgrade and get a camera of my own. I'm most passionate about covering stories that involve music (concerts, music festivals, etc.) and sports (football, gymnastics, etc.). I want to get a camera that can handle both of those areas fairly well, but I'm not sure which camera body would best suit my needs. I'm open to DSLR or mirrorless. Any advice or thoughts are welcome! Thank you for reading 🙂 

7 REPLIES 7

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Welcome to the forum.

Since you are looking to make photography a career my suggestion would be to look into the EOS R7 mirrorless camera.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, M200, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, Lr Classic

rs-eos
Elite

Would also recommend the EOS R7.  However, you didn't state how much you'd be able to spend.  So if the EOS R7 is outside your budget, you can look at other models such as the EOS R10, R50 and R100 (listed from most expensive to least expensive).

Though note that as you move from the R7 to the less expensive models, you end up with less features.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"I'm open to DSLR or mirrorless."

Being a younger person and starting out from zero you most assuredly want a mirrorless model. It is the future as you are.

Although, I admit, I still have a soft spot in my heart for the 90D, still best go is mirrorless.

A 90D coupled with the Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 DC HSM Art Lens is a killer combo.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

edithpatel
Apprentice