cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EF 24-70L f/2.8 mk I

jwalsh11
Apprentice

Hi Everyone,

So I know this has been an issue prevalent in forums all over the place, and I'm pretty behind the times, but I was curious if anyone had found any new work arounds or fixes to this issue. I'm shooting on a t3i with this lens I just picked up from another photographer. They raved about it and as I'm trying to get more experience. I didn't think I would go too wrong with the mk I model. I'm a student and so it seemed like a good way to upgrade and one that I could afford right now. Next upgrade was going to be a new body. However, the lens just won't focus when its around 24mm! I can't quite pinpoint all the lengths it has issues at, so I'll try to get that nailed down. But honestly, any advice would be great. I feel like I'm just out a bunch of money with a crap lens that won't focus. Hopefully that isn't the case.

9 REPLIES 9

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Easy test, try it on a different camera.  If it doesn't work on two different cameras, it likely needs service.  The good thing about most "L" lenses is, they can be and are worth repairing.

You need to do this simple test in good brroad daylight and not in your dorm or other dark place.  There will be times that it will not achieve focus.  Like too dark or too  close.  Not enough contrast as in a clear blue sky.

I used one of those lenses in business for years.  It is a fine lens.  It should serve you well.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Awesome, I'll try to borrow a camera from a friend and test it out. I'll definitley head outside and find the exact point at which it has issues focusing and try to compare. Also I'll try the different focus systems and try to pinpoint it. Thank you so much for the input. 

IMHO, the two different camera is better than the same camera with different focusing modes.  The camera basically uses the same circuity for both.