cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DPP 4.13 unusable

mdougc
Enthusiast

Win10, Intel i7, 32GB memory, 10TB disk, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080

I have been using DPP for about 10 years. 

Now, every time I start it and access a folder of photos, it goes to "Not responding"

I have to use Task Manager to halt the program. After that I cannot restart it until I reboot.

I tried uninstalling the software and then performing a complete re-install of freshly downloaded software.  

It did not help.

How do I do a complete uninstall, including all cache files, Registtry settings, etc??

Or is there something else to try.

I need this program to process dual pixel raw.

Thank you

mDougC
Wildlife photographer - EOS R, R5 many lenses, LR Classic, Topaz, necessary gadgets
7 REPLIES 7

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

I recall a couple of years ago that I ran into this issue with DPP doing this with a particular folder which had a file in it DPP didn't like.  Does it do this with every folder?  When I had the issue I had to move the offending folder because DPP would try to open it by default every time and then lock up.

The current version is 4.13.1, do you have the .1 update? 

I have noticed a temporary not responding when using DPP on my HP Z840 when it has access to the networked drives on my HP Z820 but it is only an intermittent one or two second pause and then it behaves normally.  I recall others have reported issues when using networked drives with DPP so if you have a local network with additiona networked drives set up at your home see if that is the issue by temporarily shutting it down.

I haven't had any issues with any of the recent versions of DPP.  I am running it on a HP Z840 workstation with Win 10 pro, twin Xeon 3.4 ghz. 6 core CPUs, twin Nvidia Quadro workstation graphics cards.