cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CanoScan LiDE 400 The USB cable that came with my scanner doesn't plug into my scanner!

dogstarman2
Apprentice

I'm a pretty tech-savvy guy, been plugging in things since the days of SCSI. lol
But this brand new CanoScan LiDE 400 that I got from Amazon has port on the back that I don't recognize. And, I can't plug in the cable!! Please see the pics, because it's hard to describe. The cable looks correct, at the USB-C side, but the port won't accept it. Seems like a little slot, too small to fit the USB-C plug. Any ideas? Please help. I'll try to return it, if I need to.
Thank you.IMG_9680.jpgIMG_9681.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

I searched further trying to find an actual image of the port.  The manual is low resolution.  It appears to have a center blade typical of USB-C, but cannot be certain.  They do make USB-C connectors with 24 pins and I see your port has this, but the unboxing video I watched shows a standard USB-C cable (like yours).  It didn't show what was on the device itself.  

This might be completely unrelated, but Canon and Amazon are going after counterfeiters aggressively.  I've also read (recently) that "sold by and ships from amazon" isn't always enough.  Apparently inventory can be co-mingled so the person pulling your order could be pulling from multiple sources.  I also learned that Amazon is imprinting inventory with lasers, in order to track where something came from.

Again, I'm not saying you received counterfeit gear, but something isn't right.  I think I might return/exchange it for the same product.  You then have 30 days to return the other device..

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It