cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pixma Pro 100 color issues for a newbie

downtuned88
Contributor

Hello everyone, thanks for letting me join the community!  I am an amateur photographer who recently bought the Pixma Pro 100 printer, and love it, but I have experienced a few issues with the color output.  When I print out a photo I have taken with colors in the green, red, orange and yellow spectrum, the picture seems to look very flat and overly yellow/orange (seem to lack the contrast that the screen shows).  Blues, blacks, and grays seem to be great, but I am looking for the best way to print exactly how I see it in Lightroom or Photoshop.  Maybe I haven't messed around with the settings enough to see how to perform this (change the sRGB settings, softproofing, or a way to simulate on screen how it will look when printed, not sure the technical term for that).  I was told that Print Studio Pro was a great way to print at the highest quality, but also told that the Lightroom print options are better than PSP, so im a bit confused on what to do.  

My paper settings are correct, as well as everything in the printer properties themselves, and I believe I need to take it a step further and understand what I am doing in either Lightroom or another software.

Also, when I did try to install Print Studio Pro, it gave me an error saying "a verision of photoshop supported by PSP is not installed.  a sup[ported verision of Adobe Photoshop, Elements, or Lightroom is required to install the plug-in for PSP."  Not sure how to fix that either; does this come down to having the plugin and main printer files in the same folder? 

17 REPLIES 17

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Welcome to the Fourm.

1. what operating system

2. what version of Photoshop

3. PSP is good for setting all the correct "switches" when you go to print. More useful for PS than LR, becasue LR is very straight forward.