cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Pixma Pro-100 Printing Too Dark

amym
Apprentice

Hi there,

I'm an artist who just bought a Canon Pixma Pro-100 to print photos of my oil paintings My intent is to sell the prints. I'm using an early-2015 13 inch Macbook Pro running macOs High Sierra. I'm using Canson Rag Photographique Ultra Smooth 310g/m paper. I've been printing using Adobe Photoshop CC and also trying Preview. I downloaded the Rag Photographique ICC Profile and installed it in ColorSync. My Macbook Pro screen is not calibrated, and I don't even really know what it means to do that.

The photos of my paintings are printing too dark using both Preview and Photoshop, but the problems with the image are worse when I print using Photoshop. 

On the left is a print from the Preview application and a print from Photoshop w/ICC profile is on the right: 

PreviewvsPhotoshop.jpg
As you can see, the Photoshop version is tinged almost green and there is far too much black/gray.

Here is the digital image of the painting:
Untitled-1300x1300-web.jpg

I'd like the print to more closely resemble the digital image. I'm losing a lot of oranges and yellows in both print but I'm particularly disappointed with the Photoshop version of the print. 

Here are my settings in Photoshop:

Screen Shot 2018-11-19 at 8.16.51 PM.png

I don't know what Black Point Compensation or Relative Colorimetric means at all.

Any help is appreciated! Thank you 🙂 

3 REPLIES 3

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Black Point Compensation:

This ensures the depth of black color in your image matches the black color output capability of your device (printer).  It isn't perfect depending on the color depth of the file being printed.

Relative Colormetric:

This setting affects color rendition.