Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014
Accepted Solution

Canoscan 9000F One-Touch Buttons: What 'Registered Software Application' Do I Need?

[ Edited ]

I have a Canoscan 9000F Mark II.  I'm trying to get the scanner buttons to work with it -- particularly the COPY button.  I've installed all available Canon software for Windows 7 (x64) for this scanner.  When I hit the COPY button, I get this dialog box:

 

Select the Program to Launch.JPG

 

So I went into the Scanner Properties for the scanner and found this Events tab.  But for every scanner button including COPY, it says "No application is registered for this event."  It won't let me select anything other than Take No Action.  The other choices are grayed out:

 

NoApplication.JPG

 

If I go to the original Canoscan 9000F (NOT the Mark II version) drivers and software page, I see this software called MP Navigator EX.  I installed that just for the heck of it, since none of the Mark II apps seemed to want to register as a "registered app" for this function.

 

When I did that, it actually put that as a choice (the only choice) by Start This Program:

 

mpex.JPG

 

I thought that would do the trick, but then when I hit the COPY button, I get this dialog box:

 

Mpnaverror.JPG

 

So I figure that MP Navigator EX is missing from the Mark II download page for a reason -- it's for the original 9000F and is not compatible with the Mark II.

 

OK...so...what IS compatible?

 

What app do I need to "register" for this buttons in order for them to work?

 

I'm completely stumped.  Someone please help; I'd greatly appreciate it.

 

-Thanks

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

[ Edited ]

Anyone?  Please, I'd really like to get an answer to this.  Pulling my hair out trying to figure out something that should be ridiculously simple.

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

Man, this is pathetic.  Will no one from Canon offer any help here?

 

What does it take to get an answer on this?

 

This is functionality that should be ridiculously simple to use.  It is advertised as such.  Just press the COPY button to copy a document, and so on.  It's proving to be impossible to get working.

 

Need some answers here, ASAP!

Moderator
Posts: 1,640
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

Hi, PenaltyShots!

 

If this is a time-sensitive matter, you'll find that contacting our US-based technical support team directly is the most efficient way to get the assistance you need.  We're standing by, ready to help 24/7 via Email at http://bit.ly/EmailCanon or by phone at 1-800-OK-CANON (1-800-652-2666) weekdays between 10 AM and 10 PM ET (7 AM to 7 PM PT).

We look forward to talking to you!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

I'll try that.

 

Too bad you can't just answer the question here, though, for the benefit of others as well as myself.

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

So, I went through Canon Support. The rep not only had no idea how to fix the problem -- he first tried to deny that the problem existed at all, using phrases such as, "it SHOULDN'T need any other app in order to work," "you SHOULDN'T be getting that message from the Canon software," "it SHOULD work as long as you have the Canon Toolkit installed." Uh huh. Except that I obviously do, I am, and it doesn't.

He was also completely unaware that there are TONS of forum messages and other posts on the Internet about the same or similar problem. Tons of them. A Google search came up with 193,000 results. The rep said that this is the first time he'd heard of anything like this. Which means he's either lying or blatantly ignorant.

After about 45 minutes of repeating myself, and then finally pointing him to the pretty screenshots on this thread here (which he first, when I offered to give him the link, quickly dismissed as, "that won't be necessary,"), he finally decided that the problem was going to have to be escalated to the engineers.

That was a week ago. Most likely my request just went into the round file and was quickly forgotten. I'll be VERY surprised if I hear back again on it. Suspect I'll have to call again, get another rep, and go through the same stupid routine all over again.

Nice job, Canon. How about checking your forums once in a while? Do a Google search on this problem, for crying out loud. It's NOT an isolated case, by any means. It NEEDS to be fixed, and PRONTO!

Ridiculous.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

Guess what? STILL no call-back from the supposed "second-tier engineers" to whom my support case was claimed to have been "escalated" nearly two weeks ago.

"Canon Support" is a complete joke.

Meanwhile, my Canon 9000F Mark II scanner, with its touted "One Touch" buttons that are supposed to make life so much easier, DO NOT WORK.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

...And why, oh why, isn't there a dedicated SCANNER section on this forum? I, and hundreds of others, I see, have had to post their scanner problems here in the printer/multifunction (or some other) forum section. Why don't scanners get their own section?
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

It's 9 months ago. I am having the same problem today. Was alright with Win 7. With win 8+ it will scan but buttons do not function at all
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-14-2014

Re: Re:Canoscan 9000F One Touch Buttons: What Registered Software Application Do I Need?

I got my new 9000f MII today, buttons fail, after a lot of trying I picked up the phone. The support rep said in 90% of cases it's due to antivirus software. Yeah, sure. I offered to bet the value of the scanner that it's got nothing to do with antivirus, unfortunately she refused ... Anyway, I tried, made no difference ... Canon? Hello? Anyone?
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement