cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

28-300 Zoom

armadilla
Contributor

I am considering upgrading my current lens which is an 18 to 200 zoom to a 28-300 zoom...  BUT would like some opinions on how much of an impact the camera itself has on the lens...  I have a Canon 70D.  The question is wil I get enough impact from the new lens or should I upgrade the camera and the lens...   I don't know what a better camera would add versus just the lens...  $2500 is a lot to invest if the 70 D is not effective...  I am not a professional photographer, but I take lots of pictures.   I have been getting some fuzzyness or "noise" in some photos.. I am looking for a lens which will a lot of clarity to my photos...  and ONE that I can use for mot all purposes.

Thanks for your insigts... 

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

“I am considering upgrading my current lens which is an 18 to 200 zoom to a 28-300 zoom... “

Is the 28-300mm that you cite the Canon “L” lens?  If so, save your money.  I do not think that is a good investment.  It covers pretty much the same zoom range, and does so at nearly the same aperture range as your existing lens.  If you want better performance, then I would suggest moving away from the all-in-one lens with very wide zoom ratios.  

Go for a wide aperture lens.  High end Canon bodies can focus better with lenses that are f/2.8, or faster.  The difference can be pretty dramatic in some cases.  

Invest in a constant aperture f/2.8 lens with a much smaller zoom ratio., like the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM.  The 16-35mm f/2.8 II and the 24-70mm f/2.8 II would be good compliments to the 70-200mm f/2.8.

Would I be correct to assume that you are looking for a high quality, “walk around” lens, but can do the occasional bird shot?

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"I have a Canon 70D."