Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,985
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII


@Waddizzle wrote:

@RobertTheFat wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@rdixit wrote:

I am editing my original question to make it more clear. I will also try to attach a photo of the "pictograms"


Er... Isn't "AF-Start" on the "AF-on" button by default? Did you maybe mean to say add "Metering Start"?


No.  “AF-Start” and “Metering Start” are two separate functions.

 

 

99D72B5A-47E1-46D3-A9A4-AD37D7E39500.jpeg02315515-9B57-46A9-AD3B-6AA977B1DD73.jpeg

 

 

 

This is the whole point of BBF.


The whole point of BBF is to remove AF-start from the shutter button; it's on the back ("AF on") button by default. So the usual change to the shutter button is to remove AF-start but leave Metering-Start. I believe that some users like to add Metering-Start to the back button as well. YMMV.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
VIP
Posts: 8,193
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII


@Waddizzle wrote:

@rdixit wrote:

I am editing my original question to make it more clear. I will also try to attach a photo of the "pictograms"


[ Button ]. :  [ Function ]


The [Shutter] button needs to be “Metering”.

 

The [AF-ON] button needs to be “Metering and AF Start”, which is seems to be the factory default.  This is also the default setting for the [Shutter] button.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 8,193
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII

“The whole point of BBF is to remove AF-start from the shutter button; it's on the back ("AF on") button by default. So the usual change to the shutter button is to remove AF-start but leave Metering-Start. I believe that some users like to add Metering-Start to the back button as well. YMMV.”

 

 

Metering and AF Start are locked together.  You can separate out Metering, but not AF Start.  I posted the available Metering and AF options.  Rebels do not have an [AF-ON] buttton, so the usual procedure is to reprogram [ * ] button.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-16-2018

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII

I think I made it clear that I am trying to set up back button focusing?

 

I am looking through the manual and obviously having trouble understanding how to set it up. Constantly telling me to read the manual is not helpful or kind. Obviously if I had been able to clearly understand how to set it up I would  not be here. I was hoping this forum would be more supportive and less snarky.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-16-2018

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII

I can't find where in the manual it explains those two states.

VIP
Posts: 8,193
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII

[ Edited ]

@rdixit wrote:

I can't find where in the manual it explains those two states.


Look at my posts from the manual.  I posted pages 500 and 501.  Yes, read the manual, don’t just “look” at it, so that you can understand what it is that you are being told.  You have a learning curve to climb.

Do you understand the settings display?  I explained it in an earlier post, which someone kudoed.  The left side is the button, and the right side is the button function.  If you want to know what they mean, unfortunately you must read the manual.  

I posted a the pages from the instruction manual that explain what the relevant symbols mean.  Your posted screen shot shows that you have the shutter button and the [AF-ON] button misprogrammed (as AEL, automatic exposure lock) in such a way that the camera will not auto focus.  

 

I suggest that you use the “reset to factory defaults” option, which is found on that same page (HINT: press the garbage can button) and reset the buttons back tot heir factory defaults.  Once this is done, you need to reprogram the shutter to so that it is metering only, without AF-START.  

 

If you need someone to walk you through it, which you seem to need, then I suggest that you call Canon Support.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 8,193
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII


@Waddizzle wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@rdixit wrote:

I am editing my original question to make it more clear. I will also try to attach a photo of the "pictograms"


[ Button ]. :  [ Function ]


The [Shutter] button needs to be “Metering”.

 

The [AF-ON] button needs to be “Metering and AF Start”, which is seems to be the factory default.  This is also the default setting for the [Shutter] button.


If you cannot understand that, then you need to contact Canon Support so that they can walk you through it.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-16-2018

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII

[ Edited ]

@Waddizzle wrote:

@rdixit wrote:

I can't find where in the manual it explains those two states.


Look at my posts from the manual.  I posted pages 500 and 501.



I am not sure what manual you received with your camera, but the English version that was packed with my camera has only 199 pages.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,985
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII


@rdixit wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@rdixit wrote:

I can't find where in the manual it explains those two states.


Look at my posts from the manual.  I posted pages 500 and 501.



I am not sure what manual you received with your camera, but the English version that was packed with my camera has only 199 pages.


Sometimes the printed manual is an abbreviated version. If a CD came with your camera, it probably has the full version as a PDF file. Otherwise, you can download it from the Canon Support Web site.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
VIP
Posts: 8,193
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Back button on focus 6D MarkII

Contact Canon Support.

I have posted the settings at least twice. Looking at your screenshots, you obviously know how to change the settings.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement