cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

upgrading from T5i to T6i

lmh321
Apprentice

Newbie here.  Does anyone know where I could potentially trade-in my T5i body for a T6i body?  Or a reliable place to sell it?  I've only had it since last October and haven't used it all that much.  I just really want a wi-fi capable dslr camera!  Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5

@lmh321 wrote:

Newbie here.  Does anyone know where I could potentially trade-in my T5i body for a T6i body?  Or a reliable place to sell it?  I've only had it since last October and haven't used it all that much.  I just really want a wi-fi capable dslr camera!  Thanks!

I don't like to rain on your parade, but I don't think that's something I'd jump into if I were you. Unless you're a photojournalist with immediate deadlines, you may find wi-fi more trouble than it's worth. I haven't used a wi-fi capable camera, but I've read a lot of cursing and whining from those who have. Very frankly, while wi-fi has its legitimate uses, it's one of the more oversold technologies alive today. (Not quite in the "wearables" class, but within shouting distance.) And a camera isn't one of its most natural platforms.

Full disclosure: I was the lead system engineer on a wi-fi implementation project a few years ago and spent a lot of time futzing around on the roofs of buildings. So I'm not a newbie.

As for the T6i, I think (especially if I already had an almost new T5i) I'd stick with this slight paraphrase of Alexander Pope:

"Be not the first by whom the new is tried

Nor yet the last to lay the old aside."

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

I agree with Robert about wifi. But if you really think you need it I believe you would be better served keeping the T5i and getting an Eye-fi card for under $100. It would cost less and it is also an SD card.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic