cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade from EOS 80D to Mirrorless

avalanchis
Contributor

I'm an amateur/hobbyist photographer and I'm interested in upgrading from my EOS 80D to a Canon mirrorless.

I use the camera mostly for landscape photography and travel, with some occasional portraits.

I don't shoot action sports very often, but I am interested in wildlife photography and the animal eye tracking feature is interesting.

I have a collection of EF L glass lenses and a couple of EFS lenses (EFS 10-22 for wide angle with the APS-C sensor).

I'm thinking now might be the right time to change to a full frame sensor and get the EF adapter so I can use my existing lenses and upgrade them to RF lenses over time.

I'm looking for a camera that will take noticeably better pictures than my 80D.

Which bodies should I be considering?

11 REPLIES 11

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:
As always, much depends upon your budget.  I myself shoot landscape and wildlife and so will look at the issues to do with those areas.

After budget and subject type, another critical issue is what you are going to produce: by that I mean will you be outputting for social media, digital devices, small-medium prints or large detailed prints?  This has significant implications for sensor capacity.  You can get away with a much lower MP count for the first choices compared to the latter one in particular.

If you are going full-frame you should also note that while your EF-S lenses can be made to work via a Canon EF-RF adapter, they will automatically send any of the R-series FF sensors into APS-C crop mode.  That is significant, as that reduces the capacity of the sensor by a factor of 2.56.  

Given you want eye tracking, your two main choices are the EOS R5 and the R6 and there is a significant difference in price.