cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unsure of which SD card to get for Canon EOS M50 Mark II

gaugin12
Apprentice

Hello all,

I recently purchased a refurbished EOS M50 Mark II that does not include the SD card.  I'm now trying to figure out which card to get but I'm not sure if I need to get a wifi / bluetooth capable card in order to use the wifi / bluetooth features of the camera when transferring images to my computer (which is a major reason I bought it).  When searching wifi SD cards, I'm have a surprisingly hard time finding many, and am unsure which among these are compatible with the camera.  On top of this, as previously mentioned, being a total amateur I'm not even sure if I need to get a special card to use wifi features.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!    

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

amfoto1
Authority

As others have noted, you don't need a "wifi enabled" memory card.

You can use any SDHC or SDXC memory card.

You also can use Micro SD cards in an adapter, but that's risky. Sometimes they be troublesome.

https://support.usa.canon.com/kb/index?page=content&id=ART178374

Will you be doing still photography or video or both?

If doing still photography, I would encourage you to consider a more moderate size card such as 32GB or 64GB. Those will hold approx. 500 or 1000 RAW image files from your camera (or even more JPEGs, if you choose not to shoot RAW). If you will be shooting more than that per day, get additional cards instead of one gigantic card. It's better to use multiple, smaller cards in case one is lost or fails for some reason (unlikely, but does happen occasionally.... far more likely to misplace one, that for one to fail!)

Another benefit of buying smaller memory cards is that they're relatively inexpensive.