cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I Switch over to Mirrorless

kapla
Apprentice

I would say that I am an intermediate photographer (I don't do anything too advanced and just do it as a hobby). I currently have an EOS 80D with an 10-18mm lens aswell as a 18-135mm lens that could be sold. I have been doing some research on cannon's Rp body and I could pick up one good lens like an RF 24-70mm f/2.8L or something like that. Do you think it is worth it to sell 80d and buy a cannon Rp (or a different body ) with a good lens or keep my 80D and buy a good lens. Is it worth it to switch?

10 REPLIES 10

Mitch_P
Enthusiast

I can only speak for myself, but right after I switched I regretted it... But now LOVE it after learning new technique. Depending on what kind of photography you do, it can be a big learning curve as far as technique. I do mostly fast action wildlife and had to wrap my head around how the AF responds. Now that I'm used to it I could never go back.

Tintype_18
Authority
Authority

Valid question. FWIW, I looked into mirrorless and by budget won't handle it.

John
Canon EOS T7; EF-S 18-55mm IS; EF 28-135mm IS; EF 75-300mm; Sigma 150-600mm DG

johnrmoyer
Whiz
Whiz

The EOS 80D in live view mode is similar to mirrorless, except that the live view can be seen in the viewfinder on mirrorless. Using live view, the EOS 80D does the dual pixel auto focus that the mirrorless cameras use. The lenses that I used with my EOS 80D all work better with an adapter on mirrorless than they did on the EOS 80D. I think you have good lenses. If you got a mirrorless camera with a crop sensor, you could continue to use those lenses with an adaptor but with possibly better autofocus.

As @Mitch_P said, learning to use mirrorless after the 80D took some time for me too.

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings ,