cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue with Magenta Tinting

FelixA7
Contributor

Hi all,

I own an EOS t7i and, in the last 7 months or so, I've struggled with magenta tinting of my photographs. No amount of white balance adjusting helps to bring the coloration back to what it is in real life. I could make the colors have a green or gold hue, but those look even more unnatural than the magenta. 

I am separately an astrophotographer and several of my astrophotographs, when perfectly tracking at long exposures, have a field of tiny, magenta/red grain to them. I've tried various astrophotography specific approaches to eliminate the grain, which some of the professionals in the field refer to as "walking grain." None of those approaches have worked. I'm wondering whether that tinted grain is related to the magenta base that I get when using auto whitebalance. 

Thanks!

Felix

P.S. This is my first time posting on this forum and I apologize if this topic has been covered elsewhere. 

15 REPLIES 15

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Welcome to the forum.

Can you post a link to a Dropbox or One Drive folder where you can post a RAW file f the images that you are describing?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Hi! 

Thanks for asking for the images. Here's a link to the folder: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/qclaw34fjkh1g38/AACih13aYJrhJ6Tql1dgBZkaa?dl=0. If you look hard at the astrophotograph, you can see the fine red grain. 

If you look at the photos of the elephant paintings and one of the figure drawings (be warned, the figure is unclothed but it's a drawing) you will notice the magenta tint. The second figure drawing shows the image after I changed the white balance. You can see that, even though the magenta is gone, there is still a tint -- a kind of drabness to the image. That is present regardless of exposure.