cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long will my Canon 20d last me before I outgrow it?

uliongon
Apprentice

I own a Canon 20D that I got because I wanted to get into photography. My lenses are a basic kit lens and a 50mm f/1.8. I don't have a lot of $$ to spend on nice gear so I am wondering how long this camera will last before I (a complete beginner) will start to notice its age. Thanks for any help https://routerlogin.uno/  !

13 REPLIES 13

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

It usually takes absolute beginners about 10,000 photos wtih digital camera before they truly have it figured out.

Be aware that you are facing two learning curves.  How to use a digital camera.  Learning the basics of photography.  I like to compare it to learning to play a musical instrument.  You have to learn how to pla the instrument, but you will never play a song until you learn about music theory.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings ,

The 20D is 20 years old.  A testament to Canon's build quality and resilience  By today's standards it's practically a museum.piece.  it has all of the features that can teach one basic photography.  Composition, the principals of exposure and RAW file manipulation.  If you have never used a more modern camera, you aren't going to miss what you've never known.  What you will notice however are others who can shoot under more challenging shooting conditions, like low light, or fast action who will get results, better (or more easily) than you can.  This will not be true in every situation, but modern cameras can do more.  It's just a fact.