cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me with new Canon RP camera

Lisaw4424
Apprentice

I've been using a Canon T6i with a Tamron 18-400 mm lens.  I've always wanted a full-frame camera as an upgrade. So I just bought a Canon RP mirrorless with an RF 24-240 lens. However, I'm not sure I really like the Canon RP. It's so different than my T6i and I'm finding it a bit confusing to use. I've been taking pictures the past two days with the new RP camera and I'm not seeing a big difference over my T6i, although I know the RP is a better camera. 

Now I'm torn. I'm just an amateur photographer who likes to take pictures of nature, animals and my family. Did I make the wrong choice? Help!

6 REPLIES 6

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi Lisa and welcome to the forum:

I'm sorry you are having a tough time making the adaptation.  Let me assure you that there is always a bedding in with any new camera.  I have been a wildlife shooter for over 40 years, and I still have to take time to get used to any new camera.  The R-series are very different from your old DSLR, so some disorientation is to be expected and you can't expect to work at the same level after only a few days.

First, the Lens:
Let me assure you that your RF 24-240 lens is an excellent unit. 
I use it with the high-end R5 (45MP) and that will test any lens. This lens does an excellent job.

The Camera:
Have you taken the opportunity to work with the manual, or to watch some videos on how to best set up and use the RP
This camera, like all DSLRs and MILCs (Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Cameras) needs to be configured to your style of shooting and needs.

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Tronhard
Elite
Elite