cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Err20 on all three of my R5's

OakandGold
Contributor

Hi all. I'm at my witts end with these cameras. Im a full time wedding photographer and I have 3 R5's. I am getting the err20 on ALL of them. And they all are only around a year old. They have nowhere near the amount of shutter clicks that should cause the shutters to fail. It seems almost as if they're getting stuck. Its weird. 

I only use canon RF lenses, only use canon batteries, do not use any sort of 3rd party anything on them. I have also updated all firmware on the cameras and lenses. Still, Im getting the errors. 

I have been a lifelong canon user. From rebels to all of the 5D ones and now the R5s. I absolutely love these cameras but I cannot trust these cameras at this point. I had to rent a camera at my last wedding. Which is ridiculous since I spent close to 12k on these. 

Any suggestions? I guess I will have to send them in but after spending this money on these and them ALL failing within the first year is absolutely unacceptable. 

21 REPLIES 21

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Error 20 is a mechanical issue with either the shutter or the mirror, but it is extremely unlikely that you would get the same error message with three such bodies, so let's look for a commonality elsewhere.  It would also be interesting to know if you have been experiencing this error with different lenses, or if it is one lens what that is please.  Also, what SD cards are you using please?

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Hi Trevor -

I only use two lenses - the RF 24-70 and the RF 70-200. It happens with both lenses.