cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Rebel EOS T5 and close ups

mamassey40
Apprentice

Hello all

Before I go crazy can someone please please help me.  I have tried it all. 

I design jewelry and take photos so I can post online.  For some reason, I cannot get the photo to be clear.  Some of it is clear but then part of it is blurry.  I have no idea what I am doing wrong.  It's not the lighting as I have a light tent plus I have tried outside etc.  I really think it's the settings that I cannot figure out.  

I will say that when I first got the camera I could take some that were very clear.  Then I started playing with the settings per YouTube instructions and that is when I lost my ability to take good clear photos. 

Please help!!!

Thanks 

10 REPLIES 10

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

The task that you have set for yourself is a field of photography known as Macro Photography.  I suggest that you do web searches for that phrase.

One reasonable explanation for your blurry photos is when you focus very close to the lens, your " depth of field " become very short.  Do a web search for that phrase, too.  I suggest that you visit DOFmaster dot com, and look at their tables.

I think that you are simply climbing the learning curve of macro photography.  You may need to use a technique known as photostacking.  This is where you take several photographs of an object, each shot focusing on a different part of the object, and then the series of shots are combined through software.

IMG_7598.jpg

That shot is comprised of 10 separate shots, each focused on a horizontal slice of the coin.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Thank you so much for the info.  I will do some research on those areas that you suggested.  Thanks again!!