cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5D Mk IV HDMI Out Not Working

weekleyba
Contributor

I've purchased a new on-camera monitor for my 5D Mk IV and I'm not able to get it to work. Just says "No Signal". The monitor works on my 70D just fine. I've searched the web for answers but have found none the fix my problem. So far I've tried disabling the Wi-Fi/FNC function and reseting the camera to factory defaults.

Does anyone have any advice?

I should add, I've never used the HDMI out before on this camera, so I guess there's a possibility that there is something wrong with it.

20 REPLIES 20

Let’s not get ahead of ourselves.  We need to figure out if the HDMI port on the camera is functioning.  

Reset the camera to factory defaults.  Do not change any settings.  Set the camera to photo mode.  Connect the camera to a different monitor.  Try a television with an HDMI input.  

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Good call Waddizzle.  I connected it to my TV through the same HDMI out and cable and it works. It worked on photo mode and worked on video mode.  It worked even when changing the HDMI frame rate to any of the three in the camera.

So perhaps my camera's HDMI out is good...?  Where does that leave me?

Did you reset your camera beforehand?

If the signal is going to your TV, then yes, the HDMI out on your camera and the cable are good.   That though shows that either your external monitor is faulty, or it's not compatible with any of the signals it is receiving.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Yes.  I did reset the camera.  I'm thinking the monitor is not compatible with the 5D4. 

Here's an image of TimbreCod DC-56 and the 5D4.

Screen Shot 2022-12-06 at 9.01.46 PM.png

So perhaps my camera's HDMI out is good...?  Where does that leave me?”