cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D Mark IV vs 6D Mark II

PWgoTravel
Contributor

Hello,

I’m an amateur+ looking to switch to Full Frame. I’ve seen about every video on 5D Mark IV vs 6D Mark II with every opinion. 

I like features of both. I am a photographer not really into videography. I like the screen of the 6 and the newer technology, but seems like 5D is better suited for pro photography. 

Not ready to jump to mirrorless yet. 

Any thoughts?

7 REPLIES 7

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

I was at this decision several years ago.  I ultimately went with the 6D2.  Really for nothing more than the articulating screen.  I had this feature on my T6s and couldn't leave it.  If you are shooting sports or action photography the 5D4 will outperform the 6D2 by a good margin.  It has the last of the best DSLR focusing system Canon ever made.  65 AF points vs 45 on the 6D2.  It also shoots at 30MP vs 26MP on the 6D2.  Dynamic Range is only a hair better on the 5D4, but you have to be seriously "peeping" to see what you can pull from the shadows comparatively.  The 6D2 is no slouch, and since I primarily shoot landscape and architecture it fit the bill for me.  Many happy memories with the 6D2.

Sports, action, BIF, racing or anything where fast focus acquisition is needed = 5D4

Portraits, landscapes, architecture, vlogging where an articulating screen is beneficial = 6D2

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

Thanks, Rick! 

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I faced the same choice several years ago, and went with the 6D2.  In addition to what Rick point out above, I had two main reasons for going with the 6D2.

One, Bluetooth.  The 6D2 was the only FF body with Bluetooth.