cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wide Angle Lens Recommendations for EOS Rebel T5i

warev
Apprentice

Hi all,

This is my first post here. I am a complete photography newbie. I am learning a ton though. I am picking up a Canon T5i tomorrow and I am wanting to get a wide angle lens for it.

The camera will come with the kit 18-55mm lens and the 50mm f1.8 lens, I believe that is what is referred to as the "fifty fifty" lens. Seems to be a popular lens for this camera.

Im also wanting to pickup a wide angle lens for this camera and I am looking for suggestions. Googling can only get me so far informationally, but I am looking for practical experience from the think tank! I appreciate all of the feedback and I look forward to learning as much as I can!

17 REPLIES 17

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Make sure your lenses have metal mounts, not plastic. Plastic can wear out if you change lenses often. 

EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, T5

IMG_0965.jpeg

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

I don't think any of the lenses the OP listed have plastic mounts. Only the EF 50mm F/1.8 II lens had a plastic mount. The 50mm F/1.8 STM lens has a metal mount. The 50mm F/1.8 version II had a problem with the mirror hitting or catching on the back of the lens. Because the plastic mount came loose over time. Also when this happened the lens couldn't be unmounted from the camera. Requiring a trip to Canon to have the lens unmounted. Now to the OP Canon does offer the less expensive EF-S 10-18mm F/4.5-5.6 IS STM lens. But I prefer the EF-S 10-22mm F/3.5-4.5 USM lens that Waddizzle (Bill) suggested.  

Edit: The EF-S 10-18mm F/4.5-5.6 IS STM lens has a plastic mount. So I'd look into the EF-S 10-22mm F/3.5-4.5 USM lens. Also it seems that most versions of the EF-S 18-55mm lens lineup uses a plastic mount.

-Demetrius
Bodies: EOS 40D (Retired) & EOS 5D Mark IV (Current)