cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pixma Pro 100 - Color Issues

faile486
Contributor

I'm fairly new to color management, but so far, it's been a NIGHTMARE.  I'm hoping I can get some guidance on what to try next 😃

I'm not printing photos, I'm printing digital artwork.  Each piece has a limited color palette, close to 10-15 colors.  I thought that would make it easier, but it doesn't seem like it so far.  I did what I think a lot of new people do - made something in photoshop, printed it out, and despaired at the color discrepancy.  I started researching color management, learned about ICC profiles, but couldn't find any for my printer (an old Brother office printer).  I decided to buy a ColorMunki Photo so I could calibrate my monitor and my printer.  I also purchased some Canon Semi-Gloss 8x10 photo paper, three different types of sticker paper from onlinelabels.com, cause I figured the ColorMunki would solve all my color problems.

I got the ColorMunki, profiled both devices, and did a few test prints.  They weren't any better than the ones without a profile - different, but not really better.  I was getting closer results printing from Chrome without any color management on some pieces!

I posted on Reddit, and the general consensus was my printer just wasn't up to snuff.  I'd been eyeing the Pixma Pro 100 for more than a year, it was on sale, so I bought it.  Profiled it, printed, and the results were again slightly better, but still not good.

I did some more research and came across DisplayCAL, which is a more detailed version of the ColorMunki default software?  Again, I saw a slight improvement.