Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
PO
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-30-2018

Re: shutter release not working S100

Oh, I just found the link which has very clear pictures and steps on how to dismentle the S100. https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Canon+PowerShot+S100+Top+Panel+Replacement/40324

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

Three important things about this major surgery.

1. Devise a system for keeping track of the screws. There are a lot of them, and they are not all the same. Consider having a pill container -- the kind with a compartment for each day of the month -- and keeping a log of where each screw came from. I know that sounds like "over-kill" but there are so many screws of slightly different lengths and slightly different heads. consider correllating each screw with a log of your disassembly steps.

 

2. Be sure you have the right size tools. Tiny phillips head screw driver, fine needle-nose pliers, tweezers. There are some very fragile parts. I would not use pliers (or anything metal) on any of the flexible printed circuit ribbons.

 

3. The only inherently tricky step is reconnecting the main connector. It is delicate, but must be firmly seated. I might help to take a photo of it before separating it, to record depth. At least take a close look.

 

Good luck!

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-29-2018

Re: shutter release not working S100

Add me to the list.  Shutter button stopped working about six months ago for my wife.  I just did the usual things like reset etc and found this thread.  Very sad...not very many pics on this model as my wife relies on me to do the photography.  But it's still a good quality camera with excellent video but now will be recycled.

 

This was my second Canon that I loved and will be my last.  My SLRs have been Sony since the a55 and I guess our pocket cameras need to be as well.  Such a simple thing to keep customers, but clearly no one is listening.

 

Nathan

had
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-01-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

[ Edited ]

I brought Panasonic LX100 after my Canon broken and unable to fix it. I threw away.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-29-2018

Re: shutter release not working S100

I found a workaround that I didn't see mentioned here.  I'd much rather a fully working camera (hey Canon!) but this will keep us going.  You can install CHDK using the quick install instructions here:

 

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK_quick_install_Guide

 

Once installed, you can copy the code below in to a text file with .lua at the end, and place it in the scripts folder within the CHDK folder on your camera's memory card.  Using the CHDK menu, you can load the script and set it to run automatically when the camera turns on.  Turn the camera off and back on and the script runs.

 

When the script is active, the half shutter button now operates as a full shutter button (yea) however no other buttons can be used (boo).  In order to zoom, you need to exit the script by pressing the play button (the default button assigned to enter the CHDK menu).  Zoom, and then press the play button again to take a picture.  In order to shoot video, you need to exit the script as well.

 

This works well enough for us to continue to use our S100...code is below.  I just learned a bit of lua to modify the code found here in order ot get it working on the s100.

 

https://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php?topic=12819.0

 

I couldn't get CHDK to recognize the video button on my S100 so I shifted to use the half-shutter button, which feels more natural anyway.  The code turns the camera into "shoot" mode to start (so the lens is extended), that's what the set_record(1) does.  It then waits until the half-shutter button is pressed.  When it is to executes all of the steps to take a picture, including focusing, and then shoots a single picture.  It then loops back (infintely) so that you can take another photo.  As mentioned above, to take video or do anything else you need to exit the script by pressing the play button.

 

--[[
@title Shutter Adjust Button
@chdk_version 1.4
--]]
sleep(1000)
if (get_mode() == false ) then
set_record(1)
while ( get_mode() == false ) do sleep(100) end
sleep(1000)
end

print "Press play button to exit"
a=1
repeat
wait_click(0)
if is_key("shoot_half") == true then
shoot()
end
sleep(100)
until (a>1)

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-03-2016

Re: shutter release not working S100

wow that is impressive - keep going. One day we don't need these manufacturers any more and built our own sturdy cameras that will last.

However too late for me unfortunately - I guess I ruined the camera when I was trying to replace this eletronic part...

 

regards

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-15-2018

Re: shutter release not working S100

Hello.

So I chime in with the same problem.

Since the spare part is not available any more - did anyone find a source for electronic switch itself? Or any spare part of a different camera model, that has the same type of switch?

I have the equipment and I can solder. So I think I will be able to replace it, if a fitting part can be obtained.

Regards,
exae
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎03-28-2015

Re: shutter release not working S100

You may be able to get a camera on ebay that you can strip for parts. Working but worn ones seem to go in the  $50 - $60. range -- I see one now listed as "buy it now" for about $55. The other problem common to these cameras is for the lens to get stuck in the out position. Canon made good on these for awhile, but probably no more. If you are looking for a shutter switch a camera with a lens problem might work out for you. But the safest would be to get one that is fully functional if a bit battered. Good luck.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,035
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

I agree, I never had an S100 but I saw one on ebay, working, with a Canon waterproof case for $100 so I bought it for use at the beach. I've had it for 2 years now with no problems. If you are so inclined to fix them I believe I saw info in this very. very long thread on how to do it and where to get parts with auction sites as an option too for parts.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement