cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is my shutter button release delayed when I am on P mode for Powershot SX60 HS? How to fix it?

Sybergoonies
Contributor

Hi, I am new to Powershot SX60 HS. When I try to shoot recently on P mode, the shutter release button is delayed before releasing and this cause my photos to be blurred. I had no such problem previously when I bought the camera a few months back. Can anyone suggest a fix to hasten the shutter release so it will be press and capture instead of press and delay and then capture. Thanks.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sybergoonies,

Since this only happens in low light, it is probably just a slow shutter speed being used.  The longer shutter is necessary to properly expose the image in the lower lighting conditions.  You may want to increase the ISO speed to compensate.  Press the FUNC/SET button, select ISO, then turn the dial to choose an ISO speed.  For lower lighting conditions, you will likely need to use at least ISO 800/1000 or higher.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

ScottyP
Authority
It it is really a pause before shooting, the pause is probably the camera having a hard time focusing.

This probably won't happen in broad daylight outside. It usually happens in dimmer light, which need not be all that dim. Just being inside is often dim enough.

It can also happen if you are shooting a blank featureless subject like a smooth wall or a cloudless sky or something.

I don't think it is a pause before shooting that is causing your main complaint, though. I think it is the camera making a slow shutter speed DURING a picture.