cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G12 partially blacked out viewing screen

How2
Apprentice

Hello

I am a novice and purchased a new G12 in early 2011. As noted the camera is rarely used.

Recently I noted the  viewing screen is partialy blacked out and the image color is wrong.

I have tried serveral different full charged batteries and noticed the black out area does not stay in the center part of the screen when the camera is turned off, then on again.

The camera has never been dropped or wet. It has a vintage type flip and snap flap cover.

Any idea what the problem is and what the best cost effective way to get this fixed?

thanks

5 REPLIES 5

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

How has the camera been stored?  Was it stored in such a way to "squeeze" the LCD? 

We can only speculate on the forums.  I suggest that you contact Canon Support.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

smack53
Mentor

With that camera being the age it is, Canon most likely would not repair it. Even Authorized Canon dealers would steer you to a new camera. I had an issue with my PowerShot G12 and sent it to a place called cameras and parts. If you google that you can go to their website and click on complete repair packages. You will see LCD replacement under that and the cost of repair is $136.00 (USD) for a G-Series camera. I am extremely happy with the repair that was done for me. It took about 10 days total, but it's like a new camera now.

Before you do any of that, have you done a reset of the camera? Since the camera sat around for a while, there may be an issue with the cable that goes to the LCD. Flip the screen a few times including twisting from front to back. If the screen corrects itself, that could possibly indicate a bad connection. Does that camera still take a photo without any issues to the final photo? Just want to be sure its not the sensor.