cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Unable to send data to printer"

BlueBird
Apprentice

I got a new Canon Color ImageCLASS (MF731C-733C UFR) two months ago. I had Best Buy set it up for me. It has been 'quirky' but I've been able to get it to print until today. But today I am getting messages that say "Unable to send data to printer".

I'm a graphic designer on a Mac 10.14.3. I can get simple documents sometimes to work (just simple text on a white page") But I'm having trouble gettign it to print anything else.

I've deletd all printer identities, reloaded the driver and added the printer identity back in to but still havig issues. I turned everything off and unplugged, and plugged everything back in and was able to get it to work again...until it went into sleep mode then it is not working again.

It does see the connection (the printer says "Waiting file name: (then the file name)

I'm also confused that there are two identities in my printer preferences:

• Canon MF731/733C with the printer icon and "airprint'

• Canon MF731/733C UFR II (this is the one Best Buy said to use)

Any help? Advice? It is connected by a USB cord

5 REPLIES 5

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Sounds like your have some duplication issues which is probably why printing only works intermittently. 

You can try to untangle the issue which has been created, or simply start over.  Up to you. 

To start over, you will need to disconnect the printer from your MAC, remove all instances of the printer from System Preferences > Printers.  I would also suggest uninstalling/removing all installed printer applications.  Then restart.

Yes, this is going to undo all of the shotty work you paid Best Buy's Geek Squad to do.  But all you have now is a small mess. 

The MF-731c is a great network capable printer.  I would recommend connecting it to your wired or wireless network, so that all devices that connect can print to it.  Why not?