cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Color imageCLASS MF642Cdw Loud Clicking Noise

Frost_Trunks
Apprentice

Hello,

I have had this printer for a little over a year.  Last night, while printing several pages front and back, I noticed a very loud clicking noise.  Kind of like something was trying to grab but could not.  Everything seemed to print, and I got no error.  But the clicking has me concerned.  I pulled out the paper tray and looked for jammed paper, saw nothing.  I re seated the toner, which I thought helped but it came back. I do use third party toner, I can't afford the good stuff.  It's not new toner, I have been using these catridges for a few months now with no issue.

Thanks in advance!

11 REPLIES 11

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

We want to help, but cannot do much based on your decription of a clicking noise.  Clicking where, front, back, deep inside the printer?

Its impossible for someone to to provide anything more than general advice.

Your troubleshooting steps were good.  Its often possible to resolve issues like these with closer insepection, cleaning and reseating.  You may want to check the duplexing portion of the printer as well, since you were printing double sided when the issue ocurred.

3rd party inks / toners can and often do work, but they can also fail unexpectedly or prematurely.  There is no way we can be sure from a post in a support forum.  

You'll have to try and establish where the clicking is coming from in order to determine what might be causing the issue.  

Paper feeding, During printing, Duplexing, or Output.  Hope you can figure it out.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It