Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

I paid $700 for it new. So putting another $300 in it isnt worth the price, considering they are going for around $500 now.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

$10- $80
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,267
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

Yes, I got my T6i about 5 months ago with 2 lenses for $550. Well then for 10-80 dollars give it a shot. Hopefully, it will go well and if not you can still sell it "as-is". I think the new T7's are going for around 700 now. From the posts I have seen the focus screen is just a remove and replace operation, no mention of calibration issues.

VIP
Posts: 11,096
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

"I paid $700 for it new. So putting another $300 in it isnt worth the price, considering they are going for around $500 now."

 

What you paid for the camera originally is not relevant.    Yours is broke so that factor is done.  You can't replace it for $300 dollars today most likely, "considering they are going for around $500 now.". That makes the $300 cost reasonable.  If you choose to upgrade to a new camera the $300 can theoretically be applied to it.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
VIP
Posts: 8,032
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?


@rocket9244 wrote:

I seen a post about replacing the focus screen on a T6i, but its jumbled and written Very poorly. does anyone have a link to a video or understandable written directions? Thank You.


I do not know where you purchased your screen, but a genuine Canon screen comes with instructions on how to change the screen, INCLUDING a special tool that you use to pick up the screen and set it down in place.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

True.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,267
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

Just found this video for replacing a focus screen, different model camera but it looks easy and it comes with a tool to do it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7j_9hlzlXlU

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

They are only like $10.00
If I put it on ebay, what should I start the bid at, $300?
I'll be basically using the money to buy a 6d, those are easy to replace if you want to lol..but, I'll treat the next camera better. I think this happened when I changed lenses at a lake, with strong winds that day. Crap flew in there and stuck to the screen.
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-25-2019

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

[ Edited ]

i had but it is expired nw, sorry !!

 

9Apps VidMate 9Apps

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon T6i, replace focus screen?

I hear you. I'm not sure what to do about it. In all reality it doesnt affect the pictures. I'll probably just use it until I get the 6D. No sense in trying to repair it myself, as it does work.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement