cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

need help choosing between a 6d and a 7dmark2

aratari10
Apprentice

Hello, I have been shooting for 3 years beginning with a t3i and now use a 60d.

I do photography of events and general news stories for three different newspapers which typically consists of gala events, festivals, and then other small events at restaurants, book stores, and places of business.

I also shoot real estate in which i typically use my 17-40 l lens and my 10mm-16mm which has not so good distortion on corners. I initially wanted to go full frame until i found out my 10mm lenses will not fit.

My other glass includes a 50m 1.4 and an 85mm 1.8 I know only 3 of my lenses will fit on the 6d while all four will work on the 7d mark 2. I also shoot sports often and do weddings here and there.

I am looking for the best bang for my buck based on this info? Things that i am having trouble with the 60d is low iso performance and soft focusing occasionally. What would you do if you were me please.

15 REPLIES 15

cale_kat
Mentor

I wouldn't let your existing lenses determine your upgrade path. The 6D would give you a big boost in low light performance. (Not sure if that's what you mean by "low iso performance" but I'm guessing that you're looking for better images when shooting indoors.)

The larger sensor size in the 6D is well suited to make the best of available light. From what you've written, I think this consideration is more important to your photography than the action-oriented features of the 7Dmark2.

@aratari10 wrote:

Hello, I have been shooting for 3 years beginning with a t3i and now use a 60d.

I do photography of events and general news stories for three different newspapers which typically consists of gala events, festivals, and then other small events at restaurants, book stores, and places of business.