cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

lense filter

newuser54
Apprentice

i am new to this type of camera, and was told to get a lense protector (filter?)

if i use this do i need an adapter of some kind in order to leave attached and put the cap on

or do i remove it everytime?

7 REPLIES 7

Tiffany

Hi Newuser54!

So that the Community can help you better, we will need to know exactly what equipment you're using.   Any other details you'd like to give will only help the Community better understand your issue.

Thanks!

amfoto1
Authority

I am going to assume you have a new camera and are asking about putting a "protection" filter on the lens.

You will get strong opinions both ways....

Personally I think it's usually a waste of money.

I'd much rather see you spend your money on the correct lens hood for your lens and use that. A hood will actually usually give better protection to the lens and can only enhance your images. When not shooting, use the lens cap. It'll protect the lens far better than any thin piece of glass ever could.

In fact, if you put a "protection" filter on your lens, sort of ironically it's even more important to use a lens hood to shade both the lens and filter from oblique light, and the lens cap to protect the filter from scratches and accidental breakage.  

I've seen more than a few lenses damaged by broken filters.

But in spite of that and the above, I have "protection" filters for most of my lenses. They are neatly stored in my camera bag until actually needed (such as out shooting in a sand storm, photographing paint ball or motorcycle races close up on the sidelines, or shooting in salt spray at the ocean). My lenses go naked (filterless) most of the time, but I  virtually always use the correct lens hood on them.