cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips for a beginner photographer? - Nighttime soccer advice

Manuelcrz
Apprentice

I am very new to photography and recently just picked up a t7 with a 70-200 f/4L IS. I take pictures at night for high school soccer games. These are some of the pictures I have taken any settings or tips I could use would be really helpful. 

IMG_0608.jpeg

IMG_0609.jpeg

  

3 REPLIES 3

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Let's have Rodger help with this...  I'll ping him.   

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.7.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

wq9nsc
Elite
Elite

Hi Manuel,

You are in a difficult situation with that combination of field lighting, T7 somewhat limited low light capability, and the need to freeze action.  From the exposure information, you have shutter speed set at 1/250 but freezing motion at the high school soccer level is very marginal even at the faster speed of 1/500 with 1/640 really being the minimum to avoid a lot of motion blur.  I generally shoot soccer at 1/1000.

Shooting high school sports at night without very good lighting is very demanding of equipment requiring a lens with a very wide maximum aperture and a camera that does well in keeping detail at a high ISO setting. 

I looked at the specs for the T7 and it looks like the maximum sensitivity for the sensor is ISO 6400 but expandable in the menu to 12,800.  However it is going to be noisy at 6,400 and even more so at 12,800 so I am not sure 12,800 with faster shutter speed is going to be helpful but I would give it a try setting 12,800 as the maximum available ISO and compare results.