cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T3i Best Vlog/Video Settings - Stopped Recording Automatically Error (under 5 minutes)

wrice4
Contributor

Hey guys, I just upgrade my Canon SX50 HS to a a Canon T3i camera with the kit lens, 18-55mm. I formatted the sd card, in the camera, and installed magic lantern + nightly build. My video settings currently are 1920X1080 @ 30fps. I am using a Scandisk Class 10 SDHC 32gb 30mb/s write speed; however, I just tried recording my first video and it shut off at 3 minutes and 30 seconds, saying the stopped recording automatically.

What are the best settings to record a vlog/video to have the best possible quality and to make it where my video(s) don't stop recording under 5 minutes of use? This is my first dslr so I am still learning and trying to figure this situation out on my own, but need some help with this.

P.S. I started a review channel, for youtube, and sit about 2 ft away from the camera. If I left anything out please let me know so I can tell you more.

Edit:

I have read up on this issue I am having. Seems like the 600D is limited to write speeds of 21mb/s so any SD Card write speed over that is fine, as it can not go any higher. Also, Shooting RAW video, with the t3i, can be the problem, as I should probably stick to just the L setting, but im not so sure. Still more researching to do.

Edit: The RAW video resolution was my problem, I think, but I have not tested it out. I have to bring down the resolution to 960x640 at 24fps, in order for the t3i to record in RAW.
10 REPLIES 10

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I suggest that you start over from scratch, and eliminate possibilities.  Get rid of Magic Lantern, and reboot your camera back to its' original state.  Reformat your cards.  Let's start all over again, as if you never installed Magic Lantern, which WILL VOID your factory warranty.  Let's pretend like that never happened.  Reset the camera.