cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RAW

Bdarin
Contributor
I'm new to Canon, have a Rebel 1200D. I don't fully understand the RAW setting. What does it mean and how does it affect the resolution? Thanks.
35 REPLIES 35

@ebiggs1 wrote:

"Shows how much JPEG editing I did with DPP3."

Me neither, we are in the same boat there.  That is why I couldn't explain how to do it.  No biggie on either of us.  But when you have done this as long as I have there are some things you just know.

Yes, I plead guilty. I do try to push people to the best.  Perhaps it is a fault but I just want folks to be and to accomplish the best they can.

A corrollary of the Law of Diminishing Returns applies in this context: Yes, better equipment will make any photographer better. But how much better depends on how good the photographer already is. The better (s)he is, the more difference better equipment makes. Encouraging relative newbies to buy very expensive equipment is usually not doing them a favor, because the degree of improvement probably won't be worth the outlay.

Often, in this forum, the type of photography a questioner wants to do is almost certainly beyond his skill level. In such cases, it hardly makes sense to have him go out any buy the equipment that a skilled photographer would need to do the job.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

"...  it hardly makes sense to have him go out any buy the equipment that a skilled photographer would need to do the job."

Every single one of us started at ground zero. So, it hardly makes sense to have them get better gear?  You didn't stay there in kindergarten so don't expect anybody else to.

The fact remains some will be happy forever with a Rebel and kit.  Some will be happy with a P&S.  Heck some are happy with an iPhone.  But if we don't expand their knowledge, how will they learn or know?